Stubborn Humans


Disclaimer:  The following applies to Martians, too, so please don’t be offended at my rant (I get a little off-topic)

I’m probably not the first one to realize and/or get frustrated over this, but…

A week or two ago it hit me that humans are so stubborn.  They just take and take and take and what they don’t like they “fix”.  They pave roads and build houses and stores and make everything neat.  They file everything away into neat sections and map out every little thing, down to the spots of gum on the street.  (Okay, that was an exaggeration).  They shove information down throats and call you an idiot if you don’t agree with them and dead people go in neat rows of bodies and tombstones… Morbid, but like Holden Caulfield said, what’s the point of the flowers for the dead?  Funerals are for the living.  And “nature”, it’s manipulated and they trim bushes down to spirals or elephants or whatever else they want in their garden, and I don’t even know if there is a pure natural forest that has not been manipulated by humans in some way.  What about the stark beauty of nature – not fake nature, but real nature, wild nature.  The kind that sprawls out and claims the land and says, “I was here first, plants existed before humans, so back off.”

Also, what’s wrong with the rain?  In the winter, with bare trees and cloudy skies and rain… it’s gorgeous.  Anyone agree?

I guess I started thinking about this again because I am reading Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury.  It’s creepy and awesome.  And scarily resembles our society today.  Thankfully books aren’t burned… Another random thought, video games have a set ending, so… I don’t know where that was going.  But they have a set ending, you can’t change it.  The level and game and storyline will end and if you die you can just start over.  It’s so unrealistic.  I guess books have a set ending too, but they allow you to learn and imagine and think and … I’m just not a video game person.  TV?  It’s cool but you don’t think and books are like TV shows in your head, so…

I need to write the second installment to the Great Banishing of Sonnets.  Anyway, what are your thoughts?

5 thoughts on “Stubborn Humans

  1. Wouldn’t it be cool if video games didn’t end. That the makers make them so deep and complex that you could just go on. Or if you died and you had to wait an hour or a day before you can play again. I’m no video game guy, but that should be looked into it.

    By the way, us Earthlings appreciate your post. We do agree with what you said. How’s life on Mars?

  2. As someone who is a fan video games I can say “respawning” is necessary to complete the game. Along with most games it allows you to learn and get better. Deaths in video games are failures to learn a lesson not the end all. Just a thought. Also, I’m super glad you’re reading Fahrenheit 451 it’s one of my favorites. 😀

  3. I appreciate you referring to Holden Caulfield. That book is one of my favorites, but I haven’t read Fahrenheit 451 yet. Speaking of pessimistic, though, have you read The Road by Cormac McCarthy? It is utterly devastating. But I think my favorite book of all time, not at all pessimistic, is Gilead by Marilyn Robinson. Or maybe it is Peace Like a River by Leif Enger. I don’t know. Then again, there are so many. Flannery O’Connor, anyone?

Tell me what you really think, I won't be offended...

